Freedom's Frontier Heritage Traveler

Visit a National Heritage Area

Explore the 49 National Heritage Areas at

Explore the 49 National Heritage Areas at Click to enlarge.

A National Heritage Area is a nationally distinctive landscape shaped by natural, cultural, historic and recreational resources. Recognized by Congress, heritage areas preserve and tell unique stories that helped shape the nation.

National Heritage Areas are lived-in landscapes where coordinating entities collaborate with communities to determine how to make heritage relevant to local interest and needs. Through public-private partnerships, NHA entities support historic preservation, conservation, recreation, heritage tourism and educational projects.

Each of the 49 National Heritage Areas have something unique to offer visitors. We encourage you to check out what Freedom’s Frontier offers at You can explore our 48 NHA sisters at

Consider a 10th anniversary challenge to learn something about each of the 49 National Heritage Areas and tell us what’s your favorite spot to visit in Freedom’s Frontier?


This entry was posted on August 14, 2015 by in 9 and 99, Uncategorized.


Search by Category

%d bloggers like this: